Upcoming Events

 

4MRV Working Group Meets

Tuesday, Feb. 6, 7-10 p.m., 2700 S. Taylor St., Arlington

Details.

Fruit Tree Pruning

Saturday, Feb. 10, noon-1:30 p.m., St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church, 4000 Lorcom Lane, Arlington

Open to the first 5 TreeStewards who express interest at info@treestewards.org

Tree Height Measuring

Saturday, Feb. 17, 1:30-3 p.m., Lacey Woods Park, 1100 N. Frederick St., Arlington

TreeStewards learn how to measure tree height with a new laser clinometer.

Nauck Feel Heritage Festival

Saturday, Feb. 24, 1-6 p.m., Charles Drew Community Center, 3500 23rd St. S, Arlington

TreeStewards information table.

VMN Woods & Wildlife Conference

Saturday, Feb. 24, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Germanna Community College, Culpeper

Registration closes Feb. 14, To register.

Chapel in the Woods Restoration

Beth El Congregation, Seminary Road (near Quaker Lane), Alexandria

Sunday, March 4, 10 a.m.-noon

TreeStewards Stuart and Nancy Davis lead restoration efforts in the congregation’s Chapel in the Woods.

Trees Virginia Tree Care Workshop

Wednesday, March 7, all day, Roanoke, VA

Details, registration.

VNPS Winter Workshop: Trees

Saturday, March 10, all day, Richmond

Trees are the focus of the Virginia Native Plant Society’s winter workshop at the University of Richmond. Details.

Urban Forestry Roundtable

Thursday, March 15, 9:30 a.m.-2 p.m., Gainesville

Details, registration.

Shenandoah Valley Plant Symposium

Friday, March 16, all day, Waynesboro, VA

Details, registration.

Just Added:

Beyond the Sidewalk: Trees and Nature

Thursday, March 22, 2-4 p.m., Virginia Dept. of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Charlottesville

Jill Jonnes, author of  Urban Forests, and Florence Williams, author of The Nature Fix,  discuss the significant and essential contributions nature provides to our lives-–from shade and space provided by urban tree canopies in cities to the restorative benefits of a walk in the woods. Free. Details here.

Woods in Your Backyards Workshop

Saturday, March 24, 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Hanover, VA

Sponsored by Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay. Details.

Arlington Home Show & Garden Expo

Saturday, April 14, 10 a.m.-4 p.m.

TreeStewards launch the Mature Tree campaign.

Native Seedling Sale

Friday and Saturday, April 20 and 21, Packard Center, Annandale

The Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District’s annual sale of native tree and shrub seedlings. Order and pay by April 11. Details.

Earth Day

Sunday, April 22, all day, everywhere.

TreeStewards provide volunteers and information,

City Nature Challenge

Friday, April 27-Monday, April 30, Arlington

Volunteers identify and count species in nature.

Arbor Day

Saturday, April 28, all day, Virginia

The commonwealth’s official celebration.

Alexandria Earth Day

Saturday, April 28, all day, Alexandria

The city’s annual  celebration,.

Northern Alexandria Native Plant Sale

Saturday, April 28, 90 a.m.-2 p.m., Church of St. Clement, 1701 N. Quaker Lane, Alexandria

Multiple vendors of native plants, including trees, Details.

Earth Sangha Open House and Plant Sale

Sunday, May 6, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Franconia Park, Springfield

Local ecotype plants propagated from seed by volunteers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

,